August 1, 2011- A Small Act (2010) – HBO Documentary Film

No.  This is not just a movie review.  Every single time I write a post about a movie, don’t think that I’m going to talk about effects or anything special about the actor or the actress’ visuals.  I look at the story lines, the plot, the execution of the cinematography and honestly, the more it is based on a true story, I’m more likely to watch it.  This is one of them, that I highly recommend you to watch and share with your friends, relatives and the whole family.

The story starts with this question:  There’s just so much need in the world, that we need to help.  What you send in is just a drop in the ocean, and sometimes you wonder, does it help?

A Small Act is an HBO Documentary Film that tells about how a small act of 15 dollars a month from Miss Hilde Back has changed the life of Mr. Chris Mburu entirely.

Narrative c/o A Small Act (please visit it for more info):

When Hilde Back sponsored a young, rural Kenyan student, she thought nothing of it. She certainly never expected to hear from him, but years later she does. Now a Harvard graduate and a Human Rights Lawyer for the United Nations, Chris Mburu decides to find the stranger that changed his life. Inspired by her generosity, he starts a scholarship program of his own and names it for his former benefactor.

The top students in Mukubu primary school are in the exact same situation as Chris once was. They are bright, but can’t afford to pay school fees. With the creation of Chris’ fund, these students have new hope. But the program is small; how many will qualify for a scholarship?

Using a strong narrative, the film interweaves seemingly separate lives into a cohesive whole. With clarity and grace, A SMALL ACT, bears witness to the ripple effect a single action can create.

A SMALL ACT Trailer 2010 from Jennifer Arnold on Vimeo.

Education is not just some process where you only read more books.  Education is a life and death issue.  When you aren’t educated, you are exploited, whether political, religious etc. – Chris Mburu 

I never quite shared my personal story of why I am compelled to become a very, very good trader, and why I believe it’s almost like a sacrosanct mission to take anyone who wants to learn trading, to follow me, just like I’ve followed many traders around in the blogosphere. This is a different kind of following.  This is not following someone’s advice on what to buy or sell, but following the education of how a trader has become the trader that he is.  In understanding why a certain trader buys a certain setup, I am illumined by his/her perspective and gain knowledge that will prepare me for my own personal trading battles ahead.

It is not because I really aspire to get loads of money.  In fact, I am not even in any way changed by another zero in my net worth.  I’m happy with what I’m making, but it is not enough to enable my “grand plans” for the future.   What really inspires me to be part of the greatest in the level of trading (the one I call “elite” status), is partly because I believe I can change the world.  I know this sounds a little crazy.  I used to think, when I was still in my college days, that I’d be setting up endowment funds similar to what Harvard and Yale does, and allow the returns I make from the market to enable street children to have a chance, an opportunity to have an education.  I have this crazy “Saviour” complex, where I deeply want to help change the world, that I’ve heard a lot of “reinforcement” remarks from my friends ranging from “You’re wasting your time educating people”, “You’re just a writer, so what?”, “Couldn’t you just focus on your job as a trader? with a slight sneer on my performance”  Of course, I felt a little bad, because I respected these friends a lot.  No, I probably almost worshipped them.  However, they only helped challenge me to only become better at what I do.  It’s true.  You can never have a following, if you can never show the money.  In this case- trading performance, a long track record, and a solid green cash flow with a larger capital base, and more importantly a consistently good performance, and not just a few months of track record.  This is why I really have high respect for traders who can only show me consistency based on at least 10 to 20 year records, because I can gauge the performance of the trader from very different market cycles.

At the end of the day, I am a Filipino trader, who wants to be an elite trader, and want to help other Filipino or non-Filipino traders who want to be an elite trader themselves.  This is for people who have a somewhat “vocation” in their hearts and minds to study the markets in depth.  I never saw myself as a technician alone.  In fact, I study many perspectives such as value investing in my own free time.  There is still a lot for me to learn, a lot of market experience I need to have, and more importantly, a reason to keep on trading well.  To me, that reason is financial well-being for myself and for others.

I would love to talk a lot about the book “The Science of Getting Rich” by Wallace D. Wattles, but I’d write at length about him in a different post.   I hope readers of mine will take the time to read this magnificent 1910 classic. Click the link above and read.

I quote below the first paragraph of Mr. Wallace Wattles:

WHATEVER MAY BE SAID IN PRAISE OF POVERTY, the fact remains that it is not possible to live a really complete or successful life unless one is rich. No one can rise to his greatest possible height in talent or soul development unless he has plenty of money, for to unfold the soul and to de-velop talent he must have many things to use, and he cannot have these things unless he has money to buy them with.

I wish to take anyone willing to join me, as I travel my own financial journey through trading the markets.  I know there are many ways to build wealth, others aspire going up the corporate ladder, (who I still believe needs a bit of financial education themselves), others go the entrepreneurial track (I greatly admire people who do such) etc.  For most people, I believe, who are normal wage earners, I wish to pose the option of learning how to trade the markets.  It will need quite some time to learn, a lot of books to read, and more importantly a lot of market experience.

Paraphrasing Charlie Munger, learning about investing only from books is like learning about sex from romantic novels.

– As Chris Mburu strongly knows – without education, we can be exploited –

In a way, I think it’s fate.  How else do you explain a stranger entering in your life and totally changes it?

I hope you become educated, and if my small act of doing so helps, I am greatly happy to be that stranger,

– The Faceless Trader (You can reach me via Twitter, Facebook or Email, just click the links along the sidelines of the blog :D)

(I shall write a post about the Zamboanga Funds for Little Kids next, I am strongly inspired about Mr. Jay Jaboneta’s act, I’ll tell you more about it complete with links 😀  Have a great day.  )

About Abc

Abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz
This entry was posted in Miss Bento Books. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to August 1, 2011- A Small Act (2010) – HBO Documentary Film

  1. JL says:

    hi FT … great post .. as always ;).

    im sure u will be an inspiration to a lot of traders out there who share ur perspectives about trading and living.

    just a side note: while i do have much respect for mr. munger … however, i think warren buffett also has some cool things to share about sex and investing 🙂 just click the link:

    Warren Buffett on Sex

    http://www.fool.com/investing/value/2009/07/13/warren-buffett-on-sex.aspx

    😉

    Like

  2. JL says:

    hehe .. and i tot all these time i wont be able to make use of buffett’s sex tips in one way or another (i mean .. the motley fool article) 🙂

    yeah … ill be waiting for ur sex article ;). but i did not know ur conservative pala … scantily clad women? why not just attach pix of naked women? :))

    btw, buffett is with a t-t :))

    Like

  3. Nice post Sir Faceless Trader.
    Reading this post reminded of me of one of my wildest dreams: to become a Stock Market “Robin Hood”. ^^
    But I still have a long way to go as I just entered the PSE since November 2010.
    And I am still confused about what trading style fits me…

    Like

    • i dont think you find your trading style in a year or less. You need to trade many markets, (hopefully not too much money involved, as you may have to pay a lot of tuition to the market initially). 😀 I do hope you become that stock market robinhood too. Looking to hear more from you online too. 😀

      Like

      • Actually I have already paid my tuition fee of 10% of my total capital since I started. It really is a big loss for me already but for some reason, I am not discouraged at all. Perhaps because I am still a noob 🙂

        I hope that you keep your site as is. No charts, no recos, no entry/exit price 🙂 Though ironically, I do post charts in my blog. ^^

        Like

      • haha. I think you’re one of the few who loves the fact that I don’t put up charts etc. I just think, most of my readers can already do it the same. I just will post notes that I feel can help them in their own trading. 10% is a tuition indeed. Just the fact that I gave up most of the profits I made last month (the swings) are the ones that really make me sick of the market, but I know it’s just part of the game. It’s all just something I still have to master myself. I’ll try to come up with a good post today, in respect of the overall markets. Thanks Mr. Hobbit. – FT

        Like

  4. Thanks. Just stumbled on your blog. Good read. And I like your mission. I’m also just trying to earn my trading stripes. Blogs like this inspire me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

